LibGuides at USA: MBA 504 : Customers & Supply Chains: Industry Analysis

Library Databases with Industry Reports

In recommended order, here are the databases available to assist you with industry research:

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Collection of industry market research and industry risk rankings
First Research This link opens in a new window
Industry and geographic profiles from Mergent and First Research.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business and Company Resource Center, this database is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes trade journals, country economic reports, industry reports and market research reports. Full-text.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company information from Moody's Manuals and Fact Sheets.

Industry Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Search terms

In addition to the name of the industry (ex: fitness, gym, health club, etc), other terms that I like to use in searches for industry information include:

Trends
Research
Statistics OR Data
Consumer
Specific areas of the business that I want to find out about (marketing, business-to-business OR B2B, data security, etc.)

Library Databases for Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes trade journals, country economic reports, industry reports and market research reports. Full-text.

Wall Street Journal
Search articles published in the Wall Street Journal back to 1984.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.

Industry Associations

Trade or industry associations are a great source for information on an industry. Sometimes they have free information available. Other times it is restricted to members of that organization.

Business Insights: Essentials

To search for trade associations, go to the Advanced Search page. Instead of Keyword search, select Association from the pull-down menu. Search by Association Name, Description, NAICS, SIC, State or Country.

Search for Industry Association Information in Articles

Search for the name of the industry in business articles. Sometimes you will find statistics or research quoted in the articles that would normally only be available to members who pay membership fees to access.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.