LibGuides at USA: AN 315 Maya, Inca, Aztec: Archaeology of Mesoamerica and the Andes: Finding Books

Books

You can find books through 4 main pathways:

One Search, the Library's main search feature. (Filter your search results to only show resources: books and e-books.)
1. You can find physical books (through the call number) and e-books (through links).
2. Not all subscription e-books will appear in the search results.
Library e-Book List
1. The Library subscribes to separate e-book collections.
2. You can find e-books that don't appear in the One Search results here.
Searches outside of the library
1. WorldCat is a website that allows you to search for almost any book that has ever been catalogued in any library. You can use WorldCat results to find books in nearby libraries, or you can find books to then request through the Library's InterLibrary Loan service.
2. Google Books is a search engine inside of Google. You will only get full-text results for books in the public domain. You can also find titles to request through Library's InterLibrary Loan.
3. Project Gutenberg is an online collection of digitized books that are in the public domain.
In a book or article you like, read the bibliography/references. Let that author do your research for you.
1. If you find an interesting book in the bibliography, you can search for the book in SOUTHcat (by title, not IBSN).
2. If the book isn't in SOUTHcat, you can request the book through Inter-library loan.

SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog - Search the catalog for books and government documents.

Use the Suggested search terms box to search the catalog
Use search punctuation tricks:
- Quotation marks hold phrases together ("british empire")
- Question marks truncate words.? (brit? would give you search results that include britain or british or brittany)
Use the catalog's vocabulary (subject terms) in its item descriptions:
- A book might have the subject term, "Great Britain --Emigration and immigration." or "United States --Emigration and immigration --History --19th century." Click on this subject term to find more records that are tagged with this same subject.
Find physical books in the Library.
- Use the book's call number to locate it on the shelves. The first letter of the call number corresponds with the letter on the end of the line of shelves.
- Books are positioned near each other when they have the same major subject! Browse the shelves around a book you like to find similar books.

The USA Libraries subscribe to several e-book collections. Some of these collections focus on a specific discipline.

Project MUSE Electronic Books
The Library purchased the current three years and archived collections which are still a work in progress. Eventually we will have access to over 16,000 books. To limit your Project MUSE search to books only, use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box and choose Books.

ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.

SpringerLink
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
Oxford Scholarship Online
The Marx Library has access to books in these specific modules: Mathematics, Social Work, Public Health and Epidemiology, and Business and Management.