OneSearch, the Library's main search feature on the Marx Library Homepage. (Filter your search results to only show resources: books and e-books.)
You can find physical books (through the call number) and e-books (through links).
Not all subscription e-books will appear in the search results.
Library e-Book List
The Library subscribes to separate e-book collections.
You can find e-books that don't appear in the One Search results here.
Searches outside of the library
WorldCat is a website that allows you to search for almost any book that has ever been catalogued in any library. You can use WorldCat results to find books in nearby libraries, or you can find books to then request through the Library's InterLibrary Loan service.
Google Books is a search engine inside of Google. You will only get full-text results for books in the public domain. You can also find titles to request through Library's InterLibrary Loan.
Project Gutenberg is an online collection of digitized books that are in the public domain.
Related Books
In a book or article you like, read the bibliography/references. Let that author do your research for you.
When you find a physical book, look at the other books around it. They will be about the same or related topics.
Subscription E-Books
The USA Libraries subscribe to several e-book collections. Some of these collections focus on a specific discipline.
The Library purchased the current three years and archived collections which are still a work in progress. Eventually we will have access to over 16,000 books. To limit your Project MUSE search to books only, use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box and choose Books.
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
Authorship - Book authors should have expertise and authority in the subject. This can be shown by:
A doctoral degree in the discipline. Most authors you can search online to see their educational background.
An association with an educational institution like a University or a research organization.
Publisher - An academic publisher is not necessary, but it is a good sign.
Proof of research - There should be a list of sources the author used to write their work. They might be listed at the end of each chapter, in footnotes, or at the end of the entire book.
Reviews - A scholarly book may have book reviews published in academic journals. You can find book reviews by searching databases like Academic Search Complete with the book's title.
