Genealogical Research: Home

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

Mobile Genealogical Society
Marx Library Journals (Bound -- 2nd Floor South)
CS 42 .D4
v. 1-56 (1963/64-2019)

Baldwin County Historical and Genealogical Society
Marx Library Alabama Documents (2nd FL South, Non-Circ)
v. 1-3 (1988-1992)

Alabama Department of Archives & History (ADAH)
--"This collection contains all the issues of The Alabama Historical Quarterly, which was published by the Alabama Department of Archives and History in 1930 and from 1940 to 1982".

U.S. National Archives (NARA)
May & June 2024
Videos and presentation materials remain available after the premiere date. Access to previous series (2021-2023) are also available.

by John P. Deeben.
U.S. National Archives (NARA), 2012
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
AE 1.108:G 28/2 X

by Val D. Greenwood
Genealogical Publishing, 2017
Marx Library Gov Docs Reference (2nd FL South, Non-Circ)
CS 47 .G73 2017

ed. by Loretto Dennis Szucs & Sandra Hargreaves Luebking
2006 (3rd)
Marx Library Reference (2nd FL North, Non-Circ)
CS 49 .S65 2006

Several findings aids are posted on-line for materials available at ADAH.

Alabama Department of Archives & History (ADAH)
--"To commemorate Alabama's bicentennial (2017-2019), the genealogical and historical community partnered with the Alabama Bicentennial Commission and the Alabama Department of Archives and History to create a portal to publications documenting the story of the state's people and its past. Much of this collection consists of the newsletters and journals produced by historical and genealogical organizations, but other relevant resources are also included."

--Categorized & cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet .

--The “How to Start Your Family History” guide reviews the 6 basic steps of research and offers handy forms and charts which get you started. This is the official “Internet Genealogy Service” from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

Library of Congress

U.S. National Archives (NARA)
--Simple tips that will help you preserve your family papers and photographs for the next generation. Preventing damage is the key to preserving your items.

Researchers can find information relating to immigrants from the late 1700s through the early 2000s.

The Library of Congress has one of the world's premier collections of U.S. and foreign genealogical and local historical publications. The Library's genealogy collection began as early as 1815 with the purchase of Thomas Jefferson's library.

U.S. National Archives (NARA)
--Several of NARA's digitization partners, including Ancestry.com, Fold3.com, and Familysearch.org, have digitized microfilm publications and original records from NARA’s holdings and made them available on their websites. The list includes microfilm publications and original records that have been either partially or wholly digitized by the partners. The list is updated as additional materials are digitized.

--Access to free primary source documents and helpful genealogical and historical material. Despite many links to subscriber-based (or fee-based) services, this site is still very useful for the beginner.

U.S. National Archives (NARA)
--Explores genealogical resources related to census records, immigration, land records, etc.

U.S. National Archives (NARA)
--Includes tools such as: "Start Your Family Research", "Browse Popular Topics", and "Tools for Genealogists"

Ancestry.com

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
--Links provided for users who want direct access to individual state and territory information.

U.S. National Archives (NARA)
--Searchable database for military records, immigration, casualties, prisoners of war, and passenger lists

Alabama family history research page. Listing of collections, history, and genealogy resources to help you trace your Alabama. ancestors.

UU.S. National Archives (NARA), 2009
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
AE 1.124:110/2009

U. of Illinois--An extensive resource for genealogical research. The guide focuses on Illinois, but does give other, more widespread resources.