Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Military Records -- Web Resources
U.S. National Archives (NARA)
Military Service Records, Awards, and Unit Histories: A Guide to Locating Sources
Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, RS21282
Latest ed available: May 9, 2022 [14 pg]
National Gravesite Locator
U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs
--Search for burial locations of veterans and their family members in VA National Cemeteries, state veterans cemeteries, various other military and Department of Interior cemeteries, and for veterans buried in private cemeteries when the grave is marked with a government grave marker.
Online Military Indexes and Records
-- A directory of links to online military indexes and records for USA genealogy research. Included are rosters, databases of soldiers, draft card databases for World War I and II, and listings of military and war casualties.
--Searchable by name, location, date of birth, more, this database offers names and vital statistic information on Prisoners of War and soldiers and civilians Missing in Action during the Vietnam War, and includes other actions, 1960-1989.
Soldiers and Sailors Database
U.S. National Park Service (NPS)
--A database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. Other information on the site includes histories of Union and Confederate regiments, links to descriptions of significant battles, and selected lists of prisoner-of-war records and cemetery records
Military Records -- Library Resources
Military Records, Guides & Finding Aids -- Library Resources
Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator