LibGuides at USA: HY 583: JSTOR

JSTOR Overview

JSTOR is a database that collects older publications and other resources. A database is a one-stop shop where you can search multiple journals and collections at once. A resource is any item that contains information you want to use in your writing. You could paraphrase, summarize, or directly quote information in that item.

JSTOR focuses on history, social sciences, and humanities. JSTOR doesn't have anything published within the past few years. JSTOR collections are older publications.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.

Accessing JSTOR

To access JSTOR:

Visit the USA Marx Library Homepage.
Under the Heading “Library Resources,” select “Databases & e-Reference.”
Find JSTOR in the database list.
You will be sent to the Advanced Search section of JSTOR.

Searching JSTOR

The Marx Library link will automatically take you to the Advanced Search option in JSTOR.

To search JSTOR, you will need to construct a search query using terms. Terms are the phrases you want included in the actual text. Terms can be single words or phrases. They are the main building blocks of your search.

A few guidelines for typing out terms:

Phrases should be in “quotations.”
Each separate term needs its own textbox/row.
You can search with multiple terms by using boolean operators.
You should search with very specific phrases because JSTOR searches full-text

Terms can be limited to specific fields, but they do not need a field.