LibGuides at USA: HY 442: Research Seminar in European History: Empire and Migration in the British World: Finding Articles

Recommended Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals which provides current coverage of journals, including many of the titles in JSTOR. Electronic books are now part of the Project MUSE collection. To limit your search to just journal articles, use the dropdown menu next to search box and select Journals.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from earliest publication date to 2000.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text available for more than 645 journals in the areas of the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Features 228 OUP journals with access to all content from 1996

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abus

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 professional and scholarly journals in education.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
University Library Reference AI 3 .W45
Library has volumes 1-2, 4
Readers’ Guide Retrospective
Coverage dates: 1890 – 1982

Recommended Newspaper Indexes and Databases

The London Times
This link is to the Gale Primary Sources database: The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985. It is a full-text facsimile.
Palmer’s Index to the Times Newspaper
University Library Microform Cabinets (2nd Floor South)
1790-1905 (FICHE)
Official Index to the Times
University Library Microform Cabinets (2nd Floor South)
1914-57 (FILM) MISSING Jan-June 1918, and 1928
Index to the Times
University Library Microform Cabinets (1957-1967) (FILM)
University Library Reference AI 21 .T55 (1968-1972)
Annual Index to the Times
University Library Microform Cabinets (1906-13) (FILM)
New York Times Index
University Library Reference AI 21 .N45 (1851-2009)
Current index and fulltext articles available in ProQuest Newsstand (1980-)
ProQuest Newspapers
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)