LibGuides at USA: HY 435: Civil War and Reconstruction: Finding Books

More SOUTHcat Resources

Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
An introductory guide to SOUTHcat

Subscription E-Books

The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Full text to books of major importance in historical studies. Formerly the History E-Book Project.
NetLibrary
A collection of about 11,173 current electronic books which you (student, faculty or staff) can search, browse, check-out and read on a computer anywhere in the world. The University Library has added the Teacher's Resource Collection of 46 books to our NetLibrary subscription. Do a Title search on the SOUTHcat Catalog: Teacher's resources.The checkout period for books from Netlibrary is currently 4 hours. In order to check out a book, you must create an account with NetLibrary.
Springer Ebooks
The University Library subscribes to Springer's 2005-2010 English/International ebook collection with access for one year to book series back to 1997. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first.

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.

SOUTHcat

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("roman empire")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (islam? finds islam, islamic, islamism)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "peloponnesian war?" then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "Greece --History --Peloponnesian War, 431-404 B.C." Click the subject heading link to find more records with this subject.)
Revise and refine your searches.
Watch for repeating call numbers and browse library bookstacks in that area.
Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.

Suggested Search Terms

Below are some suggested search terms to use when searching the SOUTHcat catalog or library databases. Search techniques may vary with each database, so look at help screens or ask a librarian for suggestions about using quotation marks and truncation symbols.

Leave out the word "and" when doing a keyword search on SOUTHcat, since this is automatically added if the phrase is not in quotes. Put phrases in quotation marks to search as a phrase. Use ? as a truncation or wildcard symbol in the library catalog.

"civil war"
confederate
union
reconstruction
"political crisis"
secession
Lincoln Administration
emancipation
freedmen
war between the states
"emancipation proclamation"
"Jim Crow"