LibGuides at USA: Hospitality and Tourism: Home

Course Information

This course provides students with an introduction to library resources related to the hospitality industry, such as tourism, hotels, restaurants, clubs, cruise lines, and casino hotels. Some resources provide information on ethical challenges and management concerns in the industry.

Library Links

Library Hours
Marx Library Homepage
SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

Library Databases

These databases will be invaluable as you search for articles and information for your marketing plan:

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business and Company Resource Center, this database is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier (including Advertising Age, 1990-present; Marketing Research (AMA) 1989-present; BrandWeek 1994-present; Journal of Brand Management 2001-present. Also, by selecting "More" and then choosing 'company profiles' from the resulting drop-down box, you can retrieve a SWOT Analysis

Emerald
Includes Journal of Product and Brand Management, 1992-present.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Includes Marketing Week, 1997-present; Marketing Business Weekly, 2008-present; Marketing Health Services, 1991-present).

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Financial reports and ratios; company executive information; NAICS codes; industry information.

Standard & Poor's
Excellent resource for competitor information as well as industry surveys.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Once in the database,select business, then marketing

My profile

Angela Rand

She/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Library
5901 USA Drive North,
University of South Alabama, Mobile, AL 36688

251-460-7028

Subjects: Adult Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication, Education, Health, Kinesiology and Sport, Interdisciplinary Studies, Psychology, USA Baldwin County

Hospitality and Tourism: Home

Course Information

Library Links

Library Databases

My profile

HTM LibGuide