LibGuides at USA: CJ 360: Introduction to the Offender: Academic Articles

Academic Articles, Journals, and Databases

A database is a collection of many different academic journals that can all be searched at once.

You search a database by creating a search query and selecting filters.

Search queries are a combination of:
- Search terms
- Boolean Operators
- Punctuation

Based off your search query, you will get a list of articles (and other resources) as results.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Citations and abstracts for criminal justice literature from the US government.
NexisUni
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.
SocINDEX with Full Text
860 full-text journals in the social sciences.

Finding Journals: CJ 360

Journal & E-Book List
The above video will show you how to find articles within specific journals. You can use this link to find whether we have access to specific journal titles and then specific volumes and issues.
Interlibrary Loan
If you locate an article that you need for your research, but you cannot access it through our library, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Recommended Criminology Journals

Criminology
Criminology is devoted to crime and deviant behavior. Disciplines covered include sociology, psychology, design, systems analysis, and decision theory. Major emphasis is placed on empirical research and scientific methodology. The journal’s content also includes articles which review the literature or deal with theoretical issues stated in the literature as well as suggestions for the types of investigation which might be carried out in the future.
Feminist Criminology
Feminist Criminology (FC), published quarterly, is an innovative journal dedicated to research related to women, girls, and crime within the context of a feminist critique of criminology. The official journal of the Division on Women and Crime of the American Society of Criminology, this international publication focuses on research and theory that highlights the gendered nature of crime.
Journal of Quantitative Criminology
The Journal of Quantitative Criminology publishes papers that apply quantitative techniques to substantive, methodological, or evaluative concerns relevant to the criminological community. The contents span a broad range of disciplines, drawing on research advances in statistics, sociology, geography, political science, economics, and engineering.
Theoretical Criminology: An International Journal
Theoretical Criminology is a major interdisciplinary, international, peer reviewed journal for the advancement of the theoretical aspects of criminological knowledge. Theoretical Criminology is concerned with theories, concepts, narratives and myths of crime, criminal behaviour, social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice, social regulation and governance.