LibGuides at USA: AN 442/542: Cultural Resource Management: Journals & Books: Cultural Resource Management

Recommended Anthropology Search Tools

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
OneSearch Advanced Interface This link opens in a new window
Advanced search interface to OneSearch, USA Libraries' discovery search. Includes books, e-books, government documents, articles, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.

Google Scholar

Remember, you can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) with Google.

You can also use "phrase searching" (words in quotation marks) to keep words together.

Recommended Anthropology Journals

American Anthropologist
This flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association publishes articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; and commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline.
American Journal of Physical Anthropology
The American Journal of Physical Anthropology (AJPA) is the official journal of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists. As measured by impact factor, the AJPA is among the top journals listed in the anthropology category by the Social Science Citation Index.
Annual Review of Anthropology
This journal covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including Archaeology, Biological Anthropology, Linguistics and Communicative Practices, Regional Studies and International Anthropology, and Sociocultural Anthropology. The journal is essential reading for anthropologists, ethnologists, archaeologists, linguists, and scientists in related fields.
Anthropological Theory
This journal seeks to strengthen anthropological theorizing in different areas of the world. Anthropological Theory publishes articles engaging with a variety of theoretical debates in areas including marxism, feminism, political philosophy, historical sociology, philosophy of science, biological anthropology, and archaeology.
Current Anthropology
This transnational journal encompasses the full range of anthropological scholarship on human cultures and on the human and other primate species. Communicating across the subfields, the journal features papers in a wide variety of areas, including social, cultural, and physical anthropology as well as ethnology and ethnohistory, archaeology and prehistory, folklore, and linguistics.
Human Nature: An Interdisciplinary Biosocial Perspective
The journal is is dedicated to investigating the evolutionary, biological, and sociological processes as they interact with human social behavior; the biological and demographic consequences of human history; the cross-cultural, cross-species, and historical perspectives on human behavior; and the relevance of a biosocial perspective to scientific, social, and policy issues.

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database

To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)

If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.

If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.

This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.

You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.

AN 442/542: Cultural Resource Management: Journals & Books: Cultural Resource Management

Where to Start

Recommended Anthropology Search Tools

Google Scholar

Recommended Anthropology Journals

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database