LibGuides at USA: SY 340: Juvenile Delinquency: Finding Articles: Juvenile Delinquency

Recommended Juvenile Delinquency Journals

Children and Youth Services Review
This journal is an interdisciplinary forum for critical scholarship regarding service programs for children and youth. The journal will publish full-length articles, current research and policy notes, and book reviews.
Criminology
Criminology is devoted to crime and deviant behavior. Disciplines covered include sociology, psychology, design, systems analysis, and decision theory. Major emphasis is placed on empirical research and scientific methodology. The journal’s content also includes articles which review the literature or deal with theoretical issues stated in the literature as well as suggestions for the types of investigation which might be carried out in the future.
Journal of Child & Adolescent Substance Abuse
This journal addresses the treatment of substance abuse in all ages of children. With the growing magnitude of the problem of substance abuse among children and youth, this is an essential forum for the dissemination of descriptive or investigative efforts with this population. This Journal serves as a vehicle for communication and dissemination of information to the many practitioners and researchers working with these young people.
Juvenile and Family Court Journal
This journal focuses on issues of interest to the field of juvenile and family justice, including child abuse and neglect, juvenile delinquency, domestic violence, substance abuse, child custody and visitation, judicial leadership, and related topics.
Youth Justice: An International Journal
This journal engages with the analyses of juvenile/youth justice systems, law, policy and practice around the world. It contains articles that are theoretically informed and/or grounded in the latest empirical research. Youth Justice enjoys an ever-increasing international presence in recognition of the developing interest in juvenile/youth justice theory and system formation within the national and international academic, policy and professional practice communities. It has a focus on effective policy and practice, drawing lessons from pioneering approaches to juvenile/youth crime from around the world, in a context of children’s rights.
Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice
This journal serves a diverse audience of academics and practitioners in juvenile justice and related fields with a resource for publishing current empirical research, discussing theoretical issues, and reviewing promising interventions and programs in the areas of youth violence, juvenile justice, and school safety.

Finding More Articles

The journals in the list to the left are only suggestions. You can find even more articles by searching the databases below.

Need help searching? Watch the SocINDEX tutorial below. You can use the same strategies to search the other two databases, too.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
860 full-text journals in the social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text available for 574 journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database

To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)

If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.

If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.

This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.

You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.