Skip to main content

Consumer Health: General Health Information

This guide will provide general health resources for the consumer.
MedlinePlus Trusted Health Information for You: A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH National Institutes of Health

Begin your health information search by using the most reliable consumer friendly health database produced by the National Library of Medicine.  Coverage expands over 1,000 health topics and includes information on both prescription drugs and herbal supplements. Database is available in Spanish and has many health resources in other languages. 

Additional Consumer Databases

 

Health Reach

Health and wellness information available in multiple languages.  Materials are reviewed to ensure accurate translations in all areas of health

Health InfoNet of Alabama

Health resources available through the collections and services of over 200 libraries in Alabama, providing the general public access to current health collections and qualified staff to assist with your health information needs.

General Health Information

Family Doctor

Produced by the American Academy of Family Physicians, this site provides information on diseases and conditions,  prevention and wellness issues as well as health tools, dictionaries and news items.

 

Women's Health

womenshealth-logo click for home.

The Office of Women's Health (OWH) part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), work to improve the health an sense of well-being of all U.S. women and girls.

Kid's Health

Produced by Nemours Center for Children's Health Media Foundation, Kids Health is an excellent resource to locate information on health, behavior, emotional and physical conditions that affect children and teens.  The information is written in easy to understood language and is reviewed regularly by a team of physicals and medical experts to ensure accuracy and currency.  

Merck Manual Consumer Edition

The Merck Manual provides consumers practical medical information for all types of diseases, conditions and ailments.  Information on symptoms, emergencies and current news and research are also provided. 

Lab Tests Online

Lab tests online

Great resource to learn about various diagnostic tests searchable by name or condition.  Provides easy to understand procedures, prep and interpretation of results.

UpToDate Consumer Database

If you are seeing this, you have attempted to link to the UpToDate widget but are experiencing a problem. Please visit UpToDate for more information.

Search one of the most authoritative databases trusted by clinicians and physicians around the world.  Now consumers have access to the most current and comprehensive information in a consumer version.  If you are interested in more technical information, "Beyond the Basics" is also available.

Biomedical Library

Information Resources/Outreach Librarian

Rachel Fenske's picture
Rachel Fenske
Contact:
Baugh Biomedical Library, Room 212
251-460-6893