Begin your health information search by using the most reliable consumer friendly health database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Coverage expands over 1,000 health topics and includes information on both prescription drugs and herbal supplements. Database is available in Spanish and has many health resources in other languages.
Health and wellness information available in multiple languages. Materials are reviewed to ensure accurate translations in all areas of health
Health resources available through the collections and services of over 200 libraries in Alabama, providing the general public access to current health collections and qualified staff to assist with your health information needs.
Produced by the American Academy of Family Physicians, this site provides information on diseases and conditions, prevention and wellness issues as well as health tools, dictionaries and news items.
The Office of Women's Health (OWH) part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), work to improve the health an sense of well-being of all U.S. women and girls.
Produced by Nemours Center for Children's Health Media Foundation, Kids Health is an excellent resource to locate information on health, behavior, emotional and physical conditions that affect children and teens. The information is written in easy to understood language and is reviewed regularly by a team of physicals and medical experts to ensure accuracy and currency.
The Merck Manual provides consumers practical medical information for all types of diseases, conditions and ailments. Information on symptoms, emergencies and current news and research are also provided.
Great resource to learn about various diagnostic tests searchable by name or condition. Provides easy to understand procedures, prep and interpretation of results.
This category of MedlinePlus allows you to locate a medical test with information on how to prepare for the test, what the test is ordered for and what the results may mean. It is a wonderful resource that provides information on the test as well as links to related information and concepts.
A resource from the U.S. Health and Human Services Department, this website provides a wealth of information on various diseases and conditions, ways to stay healthy, exercise and diet, screening tests based on your age, mental health issues, and tips on what to ask your doctor when you go for a visit. Also in Spanish.
Search one of the most authoritative databases trusted by clinicians and physicians around the world. Now consumers have access to the most current and comprehensive information in a consumer version. If you are interested in more technical information, "Beyond the Basics" is also available.
