Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Early English Books Online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. The trial of this database runs 1/22/15-2/21/15. - See more at: http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/library/Databases.html#sthash.cPxTgBYE.dpuf
The University Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences Collections 1,2,3 and 5, as well as to the Business I Collection, the Ecology & Botany Collection, and the Music Collection. Contains full-text.
Early Medieval Europe
Provides information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century. Topics include archaeology, palaeography, literature, diplomacy, art, history, linguistics, as well as more traditional historical approaches.
Essays in Medieval Studies
Each volume has had a thematic focus based on the theme or topic of the annual meeting of Illinois Medieval Assoc. Recent themes have included children and the family, medieval communities, and emotions in the Middle Ages.
Journal of Medieval & Early Modern Studies
Scholarly studies on any aspect of late Medieval and Early Modern culture and society including art, literature, theatre, music, philosophy, theology and history.
Medieval History Journal
The Medieval History Journal (MHJ) was launched at the turn of the twenty-first century when the world of history was in a ferment, radically seeking a redefinition of the discipline. The MHJ derives its distinctive profile from encompassing the entire medieval world in scope and its multi-disciplinary foci. For the MHJ, `Medieval History` signifies open chronological and thematic boundaries to honour historical plurality. Its frequent special issues investigating a particular theme across regions have provided a space for comparative and transcultural conversations within scholarship.
Speculum, published quarterly since 1926, was the first scholarly journal in North America devoted exclusively to the Middle Ages, a period ranging from 500 to 1500. It is open to contributions in all fields studying this era. Its primary emphasis is on Western Europe, but Arabic, Byzantine, Hebrew, and Slavic studies are also included. The journal publishes over a thousand pages a year of articles and book reviews, reaches an international audience, and is the most widely distributed journal of medieval studies.