LibGuides at USA: CJ 310: Research Methods: Using E-Books

Tablets and Ereaders

Login

Your login for Marx Library and Biomedical Library is your J Number and your password is the same as your jagmail password.

The login screen you get should look like this:

NOTE: Health Systems Employees and Clinical Adjunct Faculty see Accessing Reources from Off Campus for information on your logins.

Unshelved

Used by permission of the copyright holders. For more library laughs see Unshelved.

Ebook Collections Owned by the University Libraries

Not all ebook collections are compatible with any or all readers. I've noted under the device which collections it can be used for.

For information on ebook collections owned by the Biomedical Library see their E-Readers and E-Books page at http://biomedicallibrary.southalabama.edu/library/?q=ereaders

For popular fiction ebook titles, check the Mobile Public Library's ebook services: http://www.mplonline.org/ebooks.htm

ACLS Humanities Ebooks
The ACLS Humanities E-Book project contains approximately 2800 books

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The University Library has access to ebrary's Academic Complete collections and has purchased the following ebrary collections: Business and Economics, Computers and IT, Education, Engineering and Technology, Environment, Psychology and Social Work, Special Needs Education, and Sports and Recreation.

EBSCO Academic Collection
The University Library has recently subscribed to the EBSCO Academic Collection. This subscription databases provides the Library with access to over 112,000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. Although these books need to be checked out, more than one person at a time can access, view and checkout these titles.
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
The eBook Collection contains about 11,173 electronic books. The University Library has added two new Teacher's Resource Collections, a Career Collection and a Test Preparation Collection to our subscription.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes books on scholarships, literature and business.
Harvard University Press Ebooks
The Marx Library has access to 264 Harvard titles, with more to be added. You can limit to Licensed Access content only in the menu on the left.
JSTOR Ebooks
The Marx Library has just purchased over 500 ebooks from JSTOR. To limit your search to books only, check Books under Narrow By.
Oxford Scholarship Online
The University Library has access to books in these specific modules: Mathematics, Social Work, Public Health and Epidemiology, and Business and Management. There is currently no way to limit to only those books for which we have access, but the ones we bought will not have a lock icon after the title.
Project Muse ebook Collections
Over 4000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. To search only books, use the pulldown menu next to the search box and choose Books.
RKMA Ebooks
Business ebooks

Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
The University Library subscribes to Springer's 2005-2010 English/International ebook collection with access for one year to book series back to 1997. We've also recently added 2011 collections.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
The University Library subscribes to the following ebook collections: Computer Science and Engineering, Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Engineering, Nanotechnology, Neuroscience, and Public Administration and Management.

Compatible Devices

Kindle
Nook
Sony E-Reader
Kobo
iPad, iPhone
Android phones

Not every device is compatible with every ebook collection. Ebook collections that work with a particular device are listed on that device's page.

Subject Guide

Heather Butler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

University Library Room 250