LibGuides at USA: EH 105: Honors Composition (St. Clair) : Finding Books

OneSearch

With its search box situated right in the middle of the Marx Library homepage, OneSearch is an ideal place to begin your search. OneSearch also allows you to simultaneously search multiple library resources including:

Most of our databases
Our catalog
Our ebook collections

SOUTHcat

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("death penalty")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (president? finds president, presidents, presidential...)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "death penalty," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "Capital punishment." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
Revise and refine your searches.
Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.

Ebooks

Many, but not all, of the Marx Library's ebooks can be found in SOUTHcat. For a complete listing of the Library's ebook collections, see Marx Library E-books.The ebook collections listed below are particularly useful for topics involving urban sprawl.

Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
EBSCO E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of about 11,173 electronic books can be searched, browsed, checked-out and read on a computer or transfered to your ereader. It includes two Teacher's Resource Collections, a Career Collection and a Test Preparation Collection.
EBSCO E-Books Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This subscription databases provides the Library with access to over 112,000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. Although these books need to be checked out, more than one person at a time can access, view and checkout these titles.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.