LibGuides at USA: EE 401/404: Electrical & Computer Engineering Design: Finding Journals: Electrical Engineering

Review of Library Database Searching

Do you need to review how to search a library database? Frustrated with the lack of search results that relate to your topic? Trying to search from home and can't figure out how to log in?

Here is a slide show of the basic search steps in databases and how to use Boolean language.

EE401 Searching Basics
This will help you get started if you are struggling to find resources. Use this with the keyword worksheet for best results.

Recommended Electrical and Computer Engineering Search Tools

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open-access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete IEEE/IET Electronic Library, including all IEEE and IET conference proceedings and all journals and backfiles.
OneSearch Advanced Interface This link opens in a new window
Advanced search interface to OneSearch, USA Libraries' discovery search. Includes books, e-books, government documents, articles, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals available 1995 to current.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.

Google Scholar

Before searching Google Scholar, it is highly recommended that you sign into your Jagmail account and link Google Scholar with your USA login. Once you have done this, articles will be linked to the full text if available.

Remember, you can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) with Google.

You can also use "phrase searching" (words in quotation marks) to keep words together.

EE 401/404: Electrical & Computer Engineering Design: Finding Journals: Electrical Engineering

Review of Library Database Searching

Recommended Electrical and Computer Engineering Search Tools

Google Scholar

Basic Search in IEEE Xplore (IEEE video)

Browsing Journals, Magazines and Conference Proceedings in IEEE Xplore