LibGuides at USA: EH 401: Teaching Composition: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals.

Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your research. Here is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a fulltext article.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 professional and scholarly journals in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Education topics.

Google Scholar

Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.

ERIC Descriptors (journals)

Language arts

Writing composition

Writing skills

Reading writing relationship

Essays

Literary criticism

Expository writing

Persuasive discourse

Opinion papers

Theses

Reports

Opinion papers

Rhetorical theory

Computer assisted instruction