Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find books and government documents in USA Libraries'
collections, use SOUTHcat:
USA Libraries' Catalog.
- Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold
phrases together ("War on Drugs")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its
variants (educat? finds educate, educating, education, etc.)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words
for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "marriage customs,"
then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that
the subject term is "Marriage customs and rites." Click the subject heading to
find more records with this subject.)
- Revise and refine your searches.
- Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
- Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need
this information to locate the item in the library.
To find books in other libraries, use Worldcat.
SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC's database of library holdings around the world. Includes ILL request link. Citations only.
Worldcat.org This link opens in a new window
Public access to WorldCat. Enter zip code or state to find local libraries.
If USA does not own a book or journal article you need, we can likely obtain it for you from another library. Allow a minimum of 10 working days, but titles held by libraries in Alabama may arrive faster. No charge is passed on to you for these in-state items. Charges made by out-of-state libraries will be billed to your account. The ILL request forms are available from a link on the library homepage. The first time you use ILL you will need to register.
As undergraduate students, you can have 5 ILL requests in process at any time. Call the ILL office at 460-7034 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
ILL is within the reference offices (room 253) on the 2nd floor north.
The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) contains nearly 2000 texts including classic works of French literature, various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing, dictionaries and encyclopedias, and more. The collections are available to USA faculty, staff and students on-campus and remotely. You can search for books within each collection.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
A collection of about 11,173 current electronic books which you (student, faculty or staff) can search, browse, check-out and read on a computer anywhere in the world. The University Library has added the Teacher's Resource Collection of 46 books to our NetLibrary subscription. Do a Title search on the SOUTHcat Catalog: Teacher's resources.The checkout period for books from Netlibrary is currently 4 hours. In order to check out a book, you must create an account with NetLibrary.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
The Marx Library has access to books in these specific modules: Mathematics, Social Work, Public Health and Epidemiology, and Business and Management.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The University Library has access to Project Muse's Three Year Complete collection, with a little over 4000 titles. To limit your search to books only, use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box and choose Books.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current, and access to e-books from 2005 - 2010.
Search Google Books
Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public
domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show
selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.