LibGuides at USA: HY 103: History of Asian Civilization I: Finding Books

More SOUTHcat Resources

Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
An introductory guide to SOUTHcat

Subscription E-Books

The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Full text to books of major importance in historical studies. Formerly the History E-Book Project.
Ebrary Academic Complete
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all acadmic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Formerly called NetLibrary 3. A collection of about 11,173 current electronic books. The checkout period for books from EBSCO is currently 7 days. In order to check out a book, you must create an account with EBSCO. Click on Sign In at the top right on the blue bar, then choose Create a New Account. A maximum of 60 pages may be printed at one time.
Springer Ebooks
A collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.

SOUTHcat

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("ching dynasty")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (japan? finds japan, japanese)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "ming dynasty," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "China --History --Ming dynasty, 1368-1644." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
Revise and refine your searches.
Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.

Suggested Search Terms

Below are some suggested search terms to use when searching the SOUTHcat catalog or library databases. Search techniques may vary with each databases, so look at help screens or ask a librarian for suggestions about using quotation marks and truncation symbols.

Leave out the word "and" when doing a single keyword searches on SOUTHcat, since "and" is automatically added between words if the phrase is not in quotes. Put phrases in quotation marks to search as a phrase. Use ? as a truncation or wildcard symbol in the catalog. SOUTHcat will ignore internal punctuation in a word, for example: ching will find ch'ing.

chin? history
China histor? fiction
asia? history
"ming dynasty"
asia? biograph?
japan heian
"ching dynasty"
japan "foreign relations"
"neo confucian?"
japan kamakura
korea "politics and government"
"han dynasty"
"heian period"
"tang dynasty"
"mogul empire"
japan "social life and customs"
korea? ruler?
asia? religio?
asia? philosoph?
footbinding china
china "social conditions"
japan? "tea ceremony"
choson dynasty
literature chin?

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.