Skip to main content

Legacy Leadership Institute for Older Adults: Medical

A guide to library resources for participants in the Legacy Leadership Institute for Older Adults at the University of South Alabama. This guide was created by Paula Webb and updated by Rachel Fenske.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus Trusted Health Information for You: A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH National Institutes of Health

Begin your health information search by using the most reliable consumer friendly health database produced by the National Library of Medicine.  Coverage expands over 1,000 health topics and includes information on both prescription drugs and herbal supplements. Database is available in Spanish and has many health resources in other languages. 

General Health Information

Family Doctor

Produced by the American Academy of Family Physicians, this site provides information on diseases and conditions,  prevention and wellness issues as well as health tools, dictionaries and news items.

 

Women's Health

womenshealth-logo click for home.

The Office of Women's Health (OWH) part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), work to improve the health an sense of well-being of all U.S. women and girls.

Kid's Health

Produced by Nemours Center for Children's Health Media Foundation, Kids Health is an excellent resource to locate information on health, behavior, emotional and physical conditions that affect children and teens.  The information is written in easy to understood language and is reviewed regularly by a team of physicals and medical experts to ensure accuracy and currency.  

Merck Manual Consumer Edition

The Merck Manual provides consumers practical medical information for all types of diseases, conditions and ailments.  Information on symptoms, emergencies and current news and research are also provided. 

Lab Tests Online

Lab tests online

Great resource to learn about various diagnostic tests searchable by name or condition.  Provides easy to understand procedures, prep and interpretation of results.

Prescription Drugs

Genetics Databases

Genetics Home Reference 

Genetics Home Reference, Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions

An excellent resource to locate information on very rare diseases.  Information is explained without medical jargon and provides basic information on genes and genetic concepts.  

Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD)

Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center, a program of the National Center for Advancing and Translational Sciences

GARD produced by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the  most complete database of rare diseases in the U.S.  Information in this resource provides consumers current, reliable and easy to understand information on rare diseases.  Provides resources for financial support and news on latest developments.

 

Orphanet

A portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs, this resource is of utmost quality aiming to gather information on genetic diseases to improve knowledge and care for those who are affected by such diseases. Established in France in 1997 by INSERM (French National Institute for Health and Medical Research), it expanded into a European project in 2000 and now has a network of over 40 countries world wide. Orphanet also maintains the Orphanet rare disease nomenclature (ORPHAnumber), essential in improving the visibility of rare diseases in health and research information systems.

Health Resources

Library Links