CH 302L: Physical Chemistry II Lab: About SciFinder

SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, chemical substances and reactions.

It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines.

SciFinder is a collection of 5 databases from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), plus Medline:

Chemical Abstracts (CAplus)

• 54 million references (citations and abstracts) to journal articles and patents, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations and meeting abstracts.
• Substances and reactions indexed; links to CAS Registry and CASREACT
• Currently indexes 10,000+ journals (1,500 journals indexed cover-to-cover) and patents from 61 patent authorities.
• Mostly 1907 to present, with some pre-1907 content: including ACS (1879-1906) and RSC (1841-1906) journals, Chemisches Zentralblatt 1897-1906, and 38,000 US patents.

 CAS Registry

• Records for 183 million organic and inorganic substances and 68 million sequences. Substance information includes: synonyms, molecular formulas, structure diagrams and experimental & calculated property data.
  • 3 billion predicted properties for 46 million substances; 4.3 million experimental properties for 2.8 million substances
  • 88.6 million predicted spectra (13C-NMR and 1H-NMR spectra) and 721,000 experimental spectra (MS, IR, 1H-NMR) for 488,000 substances
• Complete coverage from 1957 to date, with additional substances going back to early 1900's.
• CAS Registry records link to the other SciFinder databases: CAplus, CASREACT, CHEMCATS and CHEMLIST

CASREACT

• 136 million single and multi-step reactions, and synthetic preparations, with additional information about the reactions.
• Indexed from journal articles, patents and evaluated reference sources, 1840 to date.
• Reactions link to CAplus and CAS Registry.

MEDLINE

• 18 million references to articles in more than 4,000 biomedical and related health sciences journals (including chemistry and biochemistry).
• Medline is searched alongside CAplus in reference searching, and you can remove the duplicate Medline references.

CHEMCATS

• Catalog database of 48 million commercially available chemicals from more than 900 commercial chemical suppliers.

CHEMLIST

• Database of 280,000 substances that are regulated by state, federal and international agencies, including EINECS (European Inventory of Existing Commercial Chemical Substances) and TSCA (Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Inventory.