Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are lists of selected titles and links and are not intended to be comprehensive. There are many more helpful titles available through SOUTHcat or internet searches.
Online Primary Sources
Several collections of digitized items by and about African-Americans from the collections of the Library of Congress.
Eyewitness accounts of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers from North American history.
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920
253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society.
Searchable collection of documents in law, history, and diplomacy from ancient to present day. Includes Project DIANA, an online human rights archive, and a document collection for the International Military Tribunal for Germany.
European History Primary Sources
"The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries."
The Internet Archive
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
World Digital Archive
"The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."
Primary Sources in the Library