Books - HY 457/557: Studies in European History - Crimean War - LibGuides at USA at University of South Alabama

SOUTHcat

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("crimean war")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (russia? would find russia or russian)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for russia? war then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that one subject term could be russia--history, military Click the subject heading to find more records with the subject.
Revise and refine your searches. Combine words or phrases.
Terms to try when searching for primary sources: diar?, "personal narratives", letters, sources, document?, records
Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area. This can be done online by clicking the call no. link, which will take you to a browsable list of call nos. in order.
Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.

Some selected search terms:,

crimean war, 1853-1856

crimea? "personal narratives"

[country] "crimean war"

crimea? "19th century"

Subscription E-Books

The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.

Using Marx Library E-Books with E-Readers and Tablets
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Full text to books of major importance in historical studies. Formerly the History E-Book Project.
Project MUSE Electronic Books
The Library purchased the current three years and archived collections which are still a work in progress. Eventually we will have access to over 16,000 books. To limit your Project MUSE search to books only, use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box and choose Books.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.

EBSCO Academic eBook Collection
A collection of about 117,000 electronic books.
Harvard University Press E-Books
A collection of 400 electronic books.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.

Searching Outside Marx Library

To find items on your topic that are not within the USA Libraries' collection, try Worldcat and Google Books. If you find something useful, we may be able to get it for you from another library via interlibrary loan.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC's database of library holdings around the world. Includes ILL request link. Citations only.

Google Books
Google has agreements with certain libraries to scan their collections. If an item is in the public domain, you can access the full text. However, if it is still under copyright, you will only be able to see snippets or a few page. If you find something good, first check our collection to see if we have it, and if we don't, you can request it via interlibraray loan.

HY 457/557: Studies in European History - Crimean War: Books

SOUTHcat

Subscription E-Books

Searching Outside Marx Library