Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this course guide is two-fold: to introduce freshmen to the resources in the Mitchell College of Business Library as well as to introduce the BUS 150 students to resources that will assist them in this course.
Key Business Databases
The business databases will contain articles on companies and industries as well as stock analysis. The initial databases you should become familiar with are:
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business and Company Resource Center, this database is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry and company information as well as SWOT analysis. Scan down to the “Documents Type” box and select Company Report. By limiting to this type of document, when you search for your company you will locate SWOT Analysis from Datamonitor. if available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on industry and companies or combined reports of both. To narrow search to a particle company, be sure to limit “select a field” to CO (Company Entity) or IC (NAICS Code) for industry.
Mergent Investor Edge This link opens in a new window
Provides a powerful business research tool, access to important company documents and financial information you need for each individual company
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This is a strong financial database where you can locate SIC and NAICS (industry classification codes) as well as Analyst Reports.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
The go-to provider of industry and company data. Select the “Companies” tab to retrieve basic information about a particular company. Select the “Industries” tab to review the latest information on an industry.