LibGuides at USA: AN 442/542: Cultural Resource Management: Finding Resources

Research Resources

Before and during a research project, you will need to find resources. Your resources are materials like books and articles that help you understand and make an argument about your research topic. If you are starting from scratch and having trouble choosing a research topic, visit our How to Start a Research Project guide.

You can find quality resources online in two different ways:

Through Google Scholar, the more academic version of Google.
Through USA Library databases.

These two methods are great to use for the same research project. You might find resources through one website that you wouldn't have found through the other.

Citation Mining

When you use citation mining to move backwards in time, you are looking for resources that your current resource cites.

You can find older related resources in two different ways:

Use an author's name to find more resources written by that author.
Find the items that your resource references.

How to Mine for Citations:

Use the reference list of an article or book to find another potential source.
Search the author's name in OneSearch for USA Libraries. Make sure to write the surname first and to select the "Author" button.
Search the title of another work in Google Scholar. Make sure to log in to your JagMail account in that browser before making any searches.
Select the "Full-Text@USA" option below the article you want to read. You might need to click on the arrows to show this option.
If you do not have the "Full-Text@USA" option, please make sure you are signed into your JagMail email on your browser.
If you cannot access the article, if there are no Full-Text@USA options, or if the article is behind a paywall, please request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
OneSearch Advanced Interface This link opens in a new window
Advanced search interface to OneSearch, USA Libraries' discovery search. Includes books, e-books, government documents, articles, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find versions of articles that you can access for free. Google Scholar can tell you in the search results if you have access to an article through USA Libraries or if a free version of the article has been uploaded elsewhere to the internet.

Whenever you use Google Scholar, make sure to be logged into your JagMail account on that browser. Google Scholar will then understand that you have access to USA Libraries.

In Google Scholar, you can search by author, article title, or subject.

1. Search Google Scholar. Find an article in which you are interested.

2. Select the "Full-Text@USA" option below the article you want to read. You might need to click on the arrows to show this option. You may also see a PDF option to the side of the article's search result.

3. If you do not have the "Full-Text@USA" option, please make sure you are signed into your JagMail email on your browser. If you are signed into your JagMail, and you do not have a PDF option or a "Full-Text@USA" option, then you do not have access to that article through Google Scholar. You can still try to request access to the article through Interlibrary Loan.