Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Which Databases Should I Use?
Which database you use depends on what your subject is and what type of materials (journals, proceedings, book chapters, etc.) you hope to find. In addition to the specialized journal collections and subject indexes included in this guide, the Library also has multidisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete (an EBSCO database), ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, and Wiley Online Library. See this guide: Finding Scholarly Articles for guidance on searching these databases. You should strongly consider trying these especially if your topic is at all interdisciplinary in nature - as many Engineering topics can be.
See below for databases specific to subject areas.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
USA has fulltext access to all ACS journals from year of first issue.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Register first through the link below. We have upgraded our SciFinder access to the new Scifinder-n platform! This includes PatentPak and MethodsNow as well as improved functionality.
SciFinder Scholar - Register for access This link opens in a new window
SciFinder may now be used through any web browser - users must register with CAS and receive a login name and password. Access through the client software version of SciFinder is no longer available.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE's electronic retrieval service to its full-text journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes backfiles to 1983 for journals and 1996 for proceedings.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Choose Search the Digital Library to search and Browse the Digital Library for tables of contents access.
ACM Guide to Computing Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. Links to available full-text from ACM Digital Library.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete IEEE/IET Electronic Library, including all IEEE and IET conference proceedings and all journals and backfiles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes journals formally found in the IET Digital Library such as IET Circuits, Devices & Systems, IET Communications, IET Computer Vision, etc.
ASME Transactions Journals This link opens in a new window
22 full-text mechanical engineering journals. Twelve of the journals are also indexed in EBSCO's Academic Search Complete.
Science & Technology Subject Specialist
, Chemical Engineering
, Civil Engineering
, Computer Science
, Electrical Engineering
, Marine Sciences
, Mechanical Engineering