This is the "Finding Plays" page of the "DRA: Finding Plays, Monologues, and Musicals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DRA: Finding Plays, Monologues, and Musicals  

A guide to finding plays, monologues, and musicals in the University Library.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/plays Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Plays Print Page
  Search: 
 

More SOUTHcat Resources

  • Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
    An introductory guide to SOUTHcat
  • SOUTHcat Tutorials
    This series of tutorials aims to provide an overview of SOUTHcat, the library catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. The library catalog contains records for books, e-books, journal titles, DVDs, CDs, videos, and government documents held by the libraries.

Guide Author

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Marx Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
 

Finding Plays

Plays are frequently published in collections, rather than individually, and often the titles of the collections are something like Five Plays. Helpful, right? Don't worry - this guide will show you the catalog tricks to be successful in your search for plays.

 

Locating a Specific Play

Because plays are often published in collections, rather than on their own, search the title of the play but leave the search by option set to keyword. Put the name of the play in quotation marks - this tells the catalog to search it as a phrase.Screenshot of a SOUTHcat keyword search for "Doll's House"

Because plays are often published in collections, you may need to go to the long view of the catalog record to see which plays are included in a book. But if you did a keyword phrase search, the title you're looking for will be somewhere in the record.

screenshot of the long view of a catalog record, showing the table of contents field

 

Finding a Play by a Certain Playwright

To find plays by a specific playwright, do an author search putting the last name first.screenshot of a SOUTHcat search by author for "Ibsen, H"

To see which plays are included in a collection of an author's play, refer to the box above this one.

 

Browsing for Plays

To browse for plays, check out the following call number ranges for drama collections, located on the fourth floor south.

Type of Collection Call Number Range
American drama collections PS 623-(635)
English drama collections PS 1241-1273
French drama collections PQ 1211-1241
German drama collections PT 1251-1299
Italian drama collections PQ 4227-4245
Russian drama collections PG 3240-3255
Spanish drama collections PQ 6217-(6251)
World drama collections PN 6110.5-6120
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip