Last Updated: Jun 5, 2013
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as
well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases
page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good
place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic,
consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your
is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a
- ASME Transactions Journals
22 full-text mechanical engineering databases. Twelve of the journals are also indexed in EBSCO's Academic Search Complete.
- ASCE Research Library
American Society for Civil Engineers journals and conference proceedings.
Includes hundreds of full-text environmental sciences and engineering journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
- SciFinder Scholar - Register
Primarily chemistry database (Chemical Abstracts). Good source for chemical materials, substances, and properties.
- SciFinder Scholar - Search
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research are also available.
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current.
- Wiley InterScience
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections, among others.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.