LibGuides at USA: ME 336: Materials Science Lab: Article Databases

Finding Articles

Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Databases & e-Reference page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals

Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach. Here is a LibGuide detailing how to find scholarly articles.

Recommended Databases

ASME Transactions Journals This link opens in a new window
22 full-text mechanical engineering journals. Twelve of the journals are also indexed in EBSCO's Academic Search Complete.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE's electronic retrieval service to its full-text journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes backfiles to 1983 for journals and 1996 for proceedings.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of full-text environmental sciences and engineering journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
SciFinder Scholar - Register for access This link opens in a new window
Primarily chemistry database (Chemical Abstracts). Good source for chemical materials, substances, and properties.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Register first through the link below. We have upgraded our SciFinder access to the new Scifinder-n platform! This includes PatentPak and MethodsNow as well as improved functionality.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research are also available.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current.

Wiley InterScience
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections, among others.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Google Scholar

Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.