This is the "Identifying Theses & Dissertations" page of the "Locating Dissertations & Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Locating Dissertations & Theses  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2012 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/disstheses Print Guide RSS Updates

Identifying Theses & Dissertations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Identifying Theses and Dissertations

1. Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

Like all Marx Library indexes and databases, this database is available for use anywhere at anytime as long as you are a currently enrolled student. 

2. WorldCat contains millions of records for items cataloged in libraries around the world. Cataloged theses and dissertations are searchable in this database and you can also identify the libraries that own them.  You can limit your searches to theses and dissertations by selecting Thesis/dissertation in the Subtype Limits drop down menu.

3. Specialized Indexes such as MLA Bibliography, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, ERIC, and SciFinder Scholar include citations to dissertations.  For help searching these indexes please contact the Reference Department or your Subject Specialist Librarian at 460.7025.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip