LibGuides at USA: BLY 101: Life Science I: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The easiest way to find articles on life science is to use the Library's databases. Many of these are fulltext databases and those that are not will link you to the fulltext of an article if the Library subscribes to the journal.

Library subscribed databases are listed alphabetically on the Databases & e-Reference page.

If you have the complete citation for an article and need only to see if the Library subscribes to the journal, look up the journal title in the Journal/E-Book List.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for life sciences. Includes links to full-text articles in ScienceDirect, BioOne1, and other databases.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full-text bioscience research journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals available 1995 to current.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline. USA subscribes to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I-XI, Life Sciences, Ecology & Botany.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Library's new source for one-stop shopping for many Library-provided resources. See this guide:

OneSearch

for detailed instructions on its use.

Google Scholar

In order to use Google Scholar to access the Libraries' full text resources from off-campus you need to go through the Marx Library web site or through https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/ in order to be recognized as affiliated with the University of South Alabama. After you login, change your preferences:

Once you get to Google Scholar, choose Scholar Preferences from the top right, next to Sign in
In the Library Links box, type University of South Alabama
You should get three choices:University of South Alabama - Full-Text@USA ; Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text@AVL , and Open WorldCat (Library Search)
Check the boxes in front of each one except Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text @ AVL
Click Save Preferences