Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jewish History Resources at the McCall Library: Manuscript Collections

This guide is comprised of primary sources, including records of businesses and synagogues, and the papers of individuals. The guide provides a brief description of each collection, including dates, size, and links to any online guides. In addition, this

Manuscript collections (primarily Jewish subject content)

AHAVAS CHESED (96-09-302)

Consists of material (1923-1985) related to the Ahavas Chesed (Love of Kindness) Jewish congregation. The collection includes the group's constitution and by-laws, as well as financial data, membership information, minutes, booklets, audits, scrapbooks, deeds, yearbooks, and bulletins. Also included are documents pertaining to the congregation's celebration of its 100th anniversary in 1994, as well as notes and correspondence of Rabbi Stanley Gerstein, and papers associated with several Jewish organizations. The collection was microfilmed and that microfilm resides at Samford University. 9 linear feet.

CLAIBORNE JEWISH CEMETERY RESTORATION PAPERS (699-2018)

This collection contains photographs, correspondence, and printed material documenting a project undertaken by members of the regional Jewish community restore and preserve a small Jewish Cemetery located in Claiborne, Alabama. It provides documentation of the small Jewish community that once thrived in the river town before the advent of railroads. The collection also give insight into contemporary regional Jewish communal organizations and their values. .25 linear feet.

MOBILE AREA HOLOCAUST SURVIVORS COLLECTION (688-2017)

The Mobile Area Holocaust Survivors Collection includes fifteen research files containing testimonies, photographs, original documents, facsimiles, news articles, audiovisual items, and biographical information pertaining to fifteen individuals who resided in Mobile, Alabama after having survived persecution during the Nazi Holocaust. (See also Mobile Christian-Jewish Dialogue, and Ahavas Chesed Records) 1 linear foot.

Mobile Christian-Jewish Dialogue Collection (687-2016)

Three scrapbooks containing news clippings, photographs, programs, correspondence, and fliers documenting the activities of the group also known as the Mobile Area Jewish-Christian Dialogue. The entire collection of documents has been digitized and is available here. .75 linear feet.

Manuscript collections (partial Jewish subject content)

Blacksher, Menefee, and Stein Records (171-1989) (restricted)

Case files containing briefs, depositions, petitions, exhibits, and other trial materials related to discrimination in housing, education, and employment. Includes the city's most major civil rights cases, such as Birdie Mae Davis v Board of School Commissioners case (7 cu. ft.), Bolden v. City of Mobile (12 cu. ft.), and Brown v. Board of Commissioners (11 cu. ft.). The firm also handled Elizabeth Martin v. University of South Alabama (14 cu. ft.), a sex discrimination suit involving equal pay issues. Inventories and abstracts are available for most cases.

Of interest in this collection is a book located under the book section of this libguide.

COCHRANE, KATHARINE CRAMPTON (95-09-291)

Correspondence, professional papers, photographs, genealogical records, and memorabilia pertaining to John T. Cochrane Sr., his wife Katharine Crampton Cochrane, her step-brother Dr. Guy Chester Crampton, her father Dr. Orson Lucius Crampton, and other members of the Cochrane and Crampton families. The materials date from 1815 to 1985 (Bulk 1815-1967). An exhibit of material from the collection is available here. 8.5 linear feet.

GERMAN RELIEF ASSOCIATION (90-09-195) 

This benevolent organization was active in Mobile from 1866 to 1941. The collection is in both German and English, with English used after 1917. Included are minutes, membership lists, correspondence, and other material relating to the organization from 1866 to 1943. Three of the more notable Mobilians who belonged to the organization were Julius Goldstein, Henry Forchheimer, and Abraham Levy. 9 linear feet.

SCHUMANN MUSIC CLUB (95-09-293)

Scrapbooks, programs, and minutes of the Clara Schumann Music Club (1894-2004), an organization founded to "advance the interest, and promote the culture of music in the city of Mobile." 4.25 linear feet.

Manuscript collections (partial Jewish subject content)

BEVERLY, FRANCES BAUGH (94-09-279) 

Frances Beverly (1865-1954) was related to the noted botanist, William Bartram. Beverly worked as a reporter for the Louisville Courier Journal and later wrote about Mobile's past for the Works Progress Administration. Using her collection of WPA manuscripts, she set out to publish "The Story of Old Mobile" in 1947 at the age of 82, which she later apparently self-published. Her papers consist of typed and handwritten manuscripts, including essays, short stories, poems, and brief biographical sketches that have been divided into subject files. The original Beverly Collection was microfilmed in the early 1990s by the Historic Mobile Preservation Society. That microfilm is also available. The collection also includes Beverly's journals, which contain handwritten versions of most of her typed manuscripts. 1.5 linear feet.

 

HUTCHISSON JR., C. L. (93-09-267)

C. L. Hutchisson Jr. (1902-1993) was the last of five generations of a family of builder-architects who were extremely influential in the architectural development of the city. This collection contains his personal correspondence and business records, minutes and bulletins from the Mobile Housing Board (1939-1946), the Alabama Society of Architects (1949-1958), and the Alabama Association of Registered Architects (1933-1949). Hutchisson Sr. and Jr. produced more than 800 architectural drawings (ca. 1908-1972) of structures during his career but toward the end of his life had to sell most of them. We received a total of 283 with the collection. The drawings are indexed by address as well as the client's name. See also the Elizabeth Gould collection. 56 linear feet.

 

WHIL/EUGENE WALTER (04-09-422)

Transcripts and tapes for "Eugene at Large," a radio program featuring poet and writer Eugene Walter. The program aired on WHIL-FM from 1993 to 1998 and featured discussion of local cultural events, recently published books, and food history and recipes. The taped programs are available on CDs. 3.25 linear feet.

History Of synagogue 5/7/94 [History of Jews in Mobile]