LibGuides at USA: Disaster Preparedness and Recovery for Libraries: Home

Disaster Preparation and Planning Resources

AMIGOS Disaster Plan for Libraries and Archives
This document is designed to assist libraries and archives in preparing for emergency situations which may threaten the safety of persons, collections and facilities. Whether your institution has a minimal amount of time to devote to emergency planning or is undertaking a comprehensive planning project, this disaster plan can help you to gather vital information which will be invaluable in the event of an emergency.
Library of Congress Disaster Preparedness
The information compiled here covers general key concepts and represents the minimum considered good practice in libraries, archives, museums, and other collection-holding institutions. These recommendations may be superseded by specific institutional requirements or by the instructions of civil defense or other emergency responders.
How Libraries Can Prepare for Natural Disasters and Preserve Community History
A resource of Syracuse University’s online Master of Science in Library and Information Science program, the focus of this website is on preparation preservation for disasters and is especially geared towards cultural institutions.

Continuity of Operations Planning--an overview from FEMA
FEMA brochure that covers the basics
Continuity of Operations Planning (COOP) resources from FEMA
Directives, templates and guidance for federal organizations, state, territory, tribal and local entities, for the purpose of continuity planning and emergency preparedness.

Mutual Aid Agreement Template
The purpose of Mutual Aid Agreements is to establish a working relationship between libraries. The provide an agreement to assist a library in one or more ways during a disaster which “exceeds the effective response capability of the impacted health care facility or facilities,” or in the event of local power, electronic systems, or communications outages which impact upon the partner library’s ability to provide needed and/or essential information for its users, clients and patrons. They outline the ways personnel, services and communications can be conducted in time of emergencies.

Pocket Response Plan™ PReP ™ Templates
The Pocket Response Plan™ (PReP™) is a concise document for recording essential information needed by staff in case of a disaster or other emergency. Every person having a response-related assignment should carry a PReP with them at all times.

Fictional Health Science Library PReP™ Document
This fictional library's PReP™ includes categories common to academic health science libraries

What To Do When Collections Get Wet
Preservation procedures used by the Library of Congress in the care of its collections
Northeast Document Conservation Center Emergency Assistance*
*Not just for northeastern libraries! EDCC staff members are available 24/7 to provide telephone advice to institutions and individuals handling collection-related disasters. Information provided includes advice on drying wet collections and dealing with damage from fire, pests, and mold. This service does not normally include on-site assistance. COLLECTIONS EMERGENCY HOTLINE: 1-855-245-8303
Select Hurricane-Related Resources from HHS.gov
This page highlights resources ASPR TRACIE developed to help our stakeholders prepare for, respond to, and recover from hurricanes and flooding.