LibGuides at USA: AN 313: New World Archaeology: Finding Journals: New World Archaeology

Recommended Anthropology Search Tools

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
OneSearch Advanced Interface This link opens in a new window
Advanced search interface to OneSearch, USA Libraries' discovery search. Includes books, e-books, government documents, articles, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.

Google Scholar

Remember, you can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) with Google.

You can also use "phrase searching" (words in quotation marks) to keep words together.

Recommended New World Archaeology Journals

Journal of Anthropological Archaeology
This journal is devoted to the development of theory and methodology for the systematic and rigorous understanding of the organization, operation, and evolution of human societies. The data range from the earliest archaeological evidence for the emergence of human culture to historically documented societies and the contemporary observations of the ethnoarchaeologist, sociologist, or geographer.
Journal of Social Archaeology
This journal romotes interdisciplinary research focused on social approaches in archaeology, opening up new debates and areas of exploration. It engages with and contributes to theoretical developments from other related disciplines such as feminism, queer theory, postcolonialism, social geography, literary theory, politics, anthropology, cognitive studies and behavioural science.
Latin American Antiquity
Published on behalf of the Society for American Archaeology , Latin American Antiquity is a quarterly journal devoted to special reports on archaeology, prehistory, and ethnohistory in Mesoamerica, Central America, and South America, and culturally related areas.
North American Archaeologist
Published quarterly, North American Archaeologist (NAA) is the only general journal dedicated solely to North America, offering total coverage of archaeological activity in the United States, Canada, and northern Mexico (excluding Mesoamerica). North American Archaeologist surveys all aspects of prehistoric and historic archaeology within an evolutionary perspective, from Paleo-Indian studies to industrial sites.
World Archaeology
orld Archaeology is the only journal established specifically to deal with archaeology on a world-wide multiperiod basis and thirty years after it was founded it remains the leader in its field. Each issue is dedicated to one theme of current interest and the papers adopt a broad comparative approach, looking at important issues on a global scale.

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database

To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)

If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.

If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.

This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.

You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.

AN 313: New World Archaeology: Finding Journals: New World Archaeology

Where to Start

Recommended Anthropology Search Tools

Google Scholar

Recommended New World Archaeology Journals

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database