Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Communication Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight is a collection of more than 75,000 full text articles, 200,000 reviews from management journals, plus case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, and profiles.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This database includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. The full-text is available for over 500 journals.
Recommended Communication Journals
Journal of Communication
The scope of this journal spans all of the latest and emerging research in the fields of communication and media studies, both integral areas of research in our global knowledge economy. The list of topics and keywords below covers only a fraction of the research in the journal.
Media, Culture, and Society
provides a major international, peer-reviewed forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts. It regularly engages with a wider range of issues in cultural and social analysis.
New Media & Society
New Media & Society engages in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research.
Public Relations Review
This journal is devoted to articles that examine public relations, as well as the fields of mass communications, organizational communications, public opinion formations, social science research and evaluation, marketing, management and public policy formation.
Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database
To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)
If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.
If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.
This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.
You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.