Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service) is a tool that provides a single search box to simultaneously search many of the libraries' resources, including books, e-books, articles, media, and more. Check out this step-by-step guide to using OneSearch.
You can also search for books and ebooks using their native interfaces.
To find books and government documents in USA Libraries'
collections, use SOUTHcat:
USA Libraries' Catalog.
- Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold
phrases together ("linear algebra")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its
variants (math? finds math, maths, mathematics...)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words
for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for math? history
then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that
the subject term is "Mathematics -- History." Click the subject heading to
find more records with this subject.)
- Revise and refine your searches.
- Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
- Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need
this information to locate the item in the library. The Location field will also tell you whether or not a book can be checked out. A book that's shelved in Marx Library Reference cannot usually be checked out, while one in Marx Library Bookstacks can.
The Marx Library has a variety of ebook collections on a plethora of subjects. For the complete list, see the Marx Library E-books page. For tips on using these ebooks, see Using Marx Library Ebooks with Ereaders. Some collections that may be particularly useful for students in Honors classes are:
Project Muse ebook Collections
Mainly for humanities and social science disciplines. To search only books, use the pulldown menu next to the search box and choose Books.
The Marx Library has over 500 ebooks from JSTOR. These are mainly useful in social science and humanities areas. To limit your search to books only, check Books under Narrow By.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
This ebook collection focuses on history topics.
Harvard University Press Ebooks
Harvard titles cover a variety of topics. Limit to Licensed Access, Free Access, and Open Access to retrieve titles the Marx Library has purchased.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
EBSCO E-Books Academic Collection
This subscription databases provides the Library with access to over 112,000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. Although these books need to be checked out, more than one person at a time can access, view and checkout these titles.