Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The SOUTHcat (USA Libraries' Catalog) contains records for books, e-books, journals, CD-ROMs, CDs, DVDs, videos, and government documents held by all locations of the libraries at the University of South Alabama. It does not list journal articles.
SOUTHcat can be searched in many different ways, but the most useful search types for students are:
- keyword: example -- math? history
- Title: example -- Sun Also Rises (when a title starts with "a", "an" or "the", the initial article is not included in the search)
- Author: example -- Twain, Mark (last name is first)
- Subject: example -- Epilepsy in children --Psychological aspects. (These subjects are either Library of Congress or Medical Subject Headings (MESH) so students aren't likely to know them but they will run across them when searching the catalog.
The University Libraries have been buying electronic books recently; currently we have approximately 300,000 ebooks. Many of these can be accessed through SOUTHcat and will show up in the results of a search. Not all of our ebooks, however, are in SOUTHcat.
Academic Search Complete
Some full text for more academic journals.
Covers business, the sciences and the humanities. These journals are the back issues.
Most noted for newspaper articles and law reviews, but also has transcripts, wire services, court cases, federal and state laws and a good statistics database. This is also a good source for business research.
Oxford Journals Online
Covers life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, medicine, social sciences, humanities, and law. Access is from 1996 - current.
SAGE Journals Online
Covers education, medicine, sociology, business, science and a variety of topics.
Nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Includes medical and surgical journals and e-books along-side guidelines, First Consult, a point-of-care resource, drug monographs, videos, images, and patient education documents.
GeoRef (Ovid/Silver Platter)
Does not have full text articles but links out to them.
Open Science Directory
Covers physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities, including business. Access is from 1995 - current.
Covers the sciences. Access is 1997 - current. Also includes ebooks.
Wiley Online Library
Like ScienceDirect, this is not just science; it covers business, science, education, social sciences and humanities as well. Access is from 1997 - current.
Use Google Scholar through the Marx Library's web site in order to access the University Libraries' full-text resources when you are not on campus. Follow these steps:
- Go to the Library's web site at http://library.southalabama.edu and choose Internet Search Engines
- When you choose Google Scholar, you will be asked to login as you did for our databases
- Once you get to Google Scholar, choose Scholar Preferences next to the Search box
- In the Library Links box, type University of South Alabama
- You should get five choices: University of South Alabama (Full Text@IngentaConnect), University of South Alabama - Full-Text@USA ; Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text@AVL , Open WorldCat (Library Search); and University of South Alabama - USA eText
- Check the boxes in front of each one except Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text @ AVL and University of South Alabama - USA eText
- Click Save Preferences
You should now be able to connect to the full-text of subscribed University Libraries' resources if they are part of the results of your search.
Google Translate (Translate English to your native languages when you need)