Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.
- Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("latin america")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (america? would find america or american)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "latin america" dictator?, then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term could be "Authoritarianism --Latin America." or "Latin America --Politics and government." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.
- Revise and refine your searches. Combine words or phrases.
- Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
- Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.
The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of over 75,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
In addition to journals, JSTOR includes e-book titles from various university presses.
Searching Outside Marx Library
To find items on your topic that are not within the USA Libraries' collection, try Worldcat and Google Books. If you find something useful, we may be able to get it for you from another library via interlibrary loan.
OCLC's database of library holdings around the world. Includes ILL request link. Citations only.
Google has agreements with certain libraries to scan their collections. If an item is in the public domain, you can access the full text. However, if it is still under copyright, you will only be able to see snippets or a few page. If you find something good, first check our collection to see if we have it, and if we don't, you can request it via interlibraray loan.