LibGuides at USA: Psychology: Child & Adolescent Psychology

Suggested Search Terms

Below are some suggested search terms to use when searching the SOUTHcat catalog or library databases. Search techniques may vary with each databases, so look at help screens or ask a librarian for suggestions about using quotation marks and truncation symbols.

Leave out the word "and" when doing a keyword search on SOUTHcat, since this is automatically added if the phrase is not in quotes. Put phrases in quotation marks to search as a phrase. Use ? as a truncation or wildcard symbol in the catalog.

psychological tests	"psychology of learning"
psychology research	counseling
clinical psychology	cogniti? and psycholog?
forensic psychology	psycholog? and social
child psychology	"personality development" and child?

Selected Books

Adolescents and Risk by Patrick B. Johnson; Micheline S. Malow-Iroff
Call Number: BF 724 .J64 2008
An Intimate Understanding of America's Teenagers by Bruce J. Gevirtzman
Call Number: BF 724 .G463 2008
Development of Executive Function in Early Childhood by Philip David Zelazo; Douglas Frye; Stuart Marcovitch; Ulrich Müller
Call Number: LB 1103 .S6 v.68 no.3
Developmental Assets by Peter C. Scales; Nancy Leffert; Richard Lerner (Foreword by); Eugene C. Roehlkepartain (Editor); Kate Tyler (Editor)
Call Number: BF 724 .S327 2004
Families Count by Alison Clarke-Stewart (Editor); Judy Dunn (Editor)
Call Number: BF 721 .F355 2006
Fathering and Child Outcomes by Eirini Flouri
Call Number: HQ 756 .F593 2005
Inside the Teenage Brain by Sheryl Feinstein; Eric Jensen (Foreword by)
Call Number: HQ 799.15 .F45 2009
Mental Health Information for Teens by Lisa Bakewell (Editor)
Call Number: RJ 499 .M419 2010
Phases of Childhood by Bernard C. J. Lievegoed; Tony Langham (Translator); Plym Peters (Translator)
Call Number: BF 721 .L5313 2005
The Adolescent Brain by Valerie F. Reyna (Editor); Sandra B. Chapman (Editor)
Call Number: BF 724 .A274 2012
Unleashing the Potential of the Teenage Brain by Barry Corbin
Call Number: LB 1060 .C6598 2008
When Kids Are Grieving by Donna M. Burns
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .B87 2010
Why Gender Matters by Leonard Sax
Call Number: HQ 1075 .S28 2005
Young Minds in Social Worlds by Katherine Nelson
Call Number: BF 721 .N42 2007

Subscription E-Books

The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.

SpringerLink
The University Library subscribes to Springer's 2005-2010 English/International ebook collection with access for one year to book series back to 1997. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first.

EBSCO Academic Collection
NEW: the University Library has recently subscribed to the EBSCO Academic Collection. This subscription databases provides the Library with access to over 112,000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. Although these books need to be checked out, more than one person at a time can access, view and checkout these titles.
EBSCO eBook Collection
(formerly NetLibrary 3) is a collection of about 11,173 electronic books which you (student, faculty or staff) can search, browse, check-out and read on a computer or transfer to your ereader. The University Library has added two Teacher's Resource Collections, a Career Collection and a Test Preparation Collection to our ebook subscription. Do a Title search on the SOUTHcat Catalog: Teacher's resources.

The checkout period for books from EBSCO varies by collection. In order to check out a book, you must create an account with EBSCO. Click on Sign In at the top right on the blue bar, then choose Create a New Account. A maximum of 60 pages may be printed at one time.

Selected E-books

More SOUTHcat Resources

Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
An introductory guide to SOUTHcat