Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Databases & e-Reference page linked from the Library homepage. Specialized computer and engineering databases can be found on the Databases page by choosing "Computer Science" or "Engineering" from the Tags list on the right. Remote access is available for most journals.
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete should be used to ensure a comprehensive search. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach. Here is a webpage describing how to find scholarly articles, and this is a webpage on how to download fulltext articles.
Computer & Electrical Engineering Databases
These are the most directly focused databases for computer/information science and computer engineering.
ACM Digital Library
Provides fulltext access to all Association for Computing Machinery journal and conference publications. Choose Search the Digital Library to search and Browse the Digital Library for tables of contents access.
USA has access to the IEEE All-Society Periodicals which includes full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions and magazines (1998-current). We do not have access to the proceedings or to IEEE Spectrum or IEEE Potentials. IET titles are indexed but include no links to full-text.
IET Digital Library
Full-text of IET Journals 2007-current and the previous titles, IEE Proceedings, 1994-2006. The University Library also has 1980-2006 issues in print. Does not include Electronics Letters or Micro & Nano Letters.
Finding Fulltext Articles in ACM Digital Library
On the ACM Digital Library page, choose "Advanced Search"
In the Find Publisher box, type ACM
Results list - look for PDF link to retrieve
Finding Fulltext Articles in IEEE Xplore
On the IEEE Xplore page, choose Advanced Search:
Then under Subscribed Content check "ASPP" to only retrieve citations with available fulltext.
Results list - to find fulltext items, look for "Included With Your Subscription" icon:
These databases are more broadly focused, but are easier to search and provide access to many relevant journals not indexed in the primary computing related databases. They should be included in any comprehensive search. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE SUBJECT INDEXING PROVIDED IN ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE & ACADEMIC ONEFILE! You may find broader/narrower/related terms that can improve your searches in other databases.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes 148 full-text computer science journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research is also available.