Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Specialized engineering databases can be found on the Engineering & Computer Science Databases page. Remote access is available for most journals.
In addition to the specialized journal collections and subject indexes, the Library also has multidisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete (an EBSCO database), ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, and Wiley Online Library. See this guide: Finding Scholarly Articles for guidance on searching these databases. You should strongly consider trying these especially if your topic is at all interdisciplinary in nature - as many Engineering topics can be. Once you have decided on your topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach.
Electrical & Computer Engineering Databases
These are specialized databases for electrical and computer engineering.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Choose the IEEE Xplore tab for detailed information on using Xplore.
Electronic access to the full-text of IEEE journals (1998-current) except IEEE Spectrum, IEEE Potentials, and Proceedings of the IEEE. Journals and proceedings not subscribed to may only be searched for citations. The University Library also has older issues on microfiche. IET titles are indexed but include no links to full-text.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Choose Search the Digital Library to search and Browse the Digital Library for tables of contents access.
ACM Guide to Computing Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. Links to available full-text from ACM Digital Library.
These databases are more broadly focused, but provide access to many relevant journals not indexed in the primary engineering or computer related databases. They should be included in any comprehensive search.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 257 full-text engineering journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research is also available.
See below for directions to set Scholar preferences to find fulltext available through the USA Libraries.
Google Scholar Preferences Set Up
To manually set Google Scholar Preferences:
1. Go to https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/
2. Choose Scholar Preferences located to the right
of the Search box
3. In the Library Links box, type University of
4. You should get three choices: University of
South Alabama (USA eText); Open WorldCat (Library Search); and
University of South Alabama (Full Text@IngentaConnect)
5. Check the boxes in front of each one
6. Click Save Preferences