Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals.
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics.
Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach. If you have the complete citation for an article and need only to see if the Library subscribes to the journal, use Journal/E-Book List and search the journal title.
Web editions of the American Chemical Society journals. Includes all journals from year of first issue.
SciFinder Scholar - Register for access
Primarily chemistry database (Chemical Abstracts). Good source for everything related to chemicals, chemical properties, processes, analysis, etc.
Register first through the link below. We have upgraded our SciFinder access to the new Scifinder-n platform! This includes PatentPak and MethodsNow as well as improved functionality.
Includes hundreds of full-text chemistry and chemical engineering journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research are also available.
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current.
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections, among others.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.