Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The easiest way to find articles on molecular microbiology is to use the Library's databases. Many of these are fulltext databases and those that are not will link you to the fulltext of an article if the Library subscribes to the journal.
Library subscribed databases are listed alphabetically on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page.
If you have the complete citation for an article and need only to see if the Library subscribes to the journal, use Our Journal List.
indexing and abstracting for life sciences. Includes links to full-text articles in BioOne1, ScienceDirect, and other databases.
The University subscribes to the BioOne 1 fulltext collection.
Includes more than 2000 full-text life sciences journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research are also available.
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current.
Wiley Online Library
Access is from 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections
The National Library of Medicine's free search service for MEDLINE, Pre-Medline and related databases. This link takes you through the University of South Alabama University Library's proxy server, so you can authenticate and get to the fulltext of articles for journals to which we subscribe.
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline, including Botany & Plant Sciences and Ecology & Evolutionary Biology.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
In order to use Google Scholar to access the Libraries' full text resources from off-campus you need to go through the Marx Library web site or through https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/ in order to be recognized as affiliated with the University of South Alabama. After you login, change your preferences:
- Once you get to Google Scholar, choose Scholar Preferences from the top right, next to Sign in
- In the Library Links box, type University of South Alabama
- You should get three choices:University of South Alabama - Full-Text@USA ; Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text@AVL , and Open WorldCat (Library Search)
- Check the boxes in front of each one except Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text @ AVL
- Click Save Preferences