Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as
well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases
page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good
place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic,
consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your
is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a
SciFinder Scholar - Register for access This link opens in a new window
Primarily chemistry database (Chemical Abstracts). Good source for environmental or chemical toxicology, pharmaceuticals.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Register first through the link below. We have upgraded our SciFinder access to the new Scifinder-n platform! This includes PatentPak and MethodsNow as well as improved functionality.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
indexing and abstracting for life sciences. Includes links to full-text articles in BioOne1, ScienceDirect, and other databases.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research are also available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of full-text environmental sciences and engineering journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current.
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections, among others.
ASCE Research Library
American Society for Civil Engineers journals and conference proceedings.
Institution of Civil Engineers journals - fulltext for ICE Proceedings only.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.