Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Political Science Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text available for 574 journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
860 full-text journals in the social sciences.
Recommended Political Science Journals
American Journal of Political Science
The American Journal of Political Science is committed to significant advances in knowledge and understanding of citizenship, governance, and politics, and to the public value of political science research. AJPS is the official journal of the Midwest Political Science Association.
Comparative Political Studies
Comparative Political Studies offers scholarly work on comparative politics at both the cross-national and intra-national levels. Dedicated to relevant, in-depth analyses, CPS provides the timeliest methodology, theory, and research in the field of comparative politics. Journal articles discuss innovative work on comparative methodology, theory, and research from around the world with important implications for the formation of domestic and foreign policies.
The Journal of Politics
Established in 1939 and published for the Southern Political Science Association, The Journal of Politics is a leading general-interest journal of political science and the oldest regional political science journal in the United States. The scholarship published in The Journal of Politics is theoretically innovative and methodologically diverse, and comprises a blend of the various intellectual approaches that make up the discipline.
Political Analysis is the official journal of the Society for Political Methodology and the Political Methodology Section of the American Political Science Association. We publish articles that provide original and significant advances in the general area of political methodology, including both quantitative and qualitative methodological approaches. Authors who have any questions about the appropriateness of a potential submission are encouraged to contact the journal Editors.
Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database
To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)
If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.
If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.
This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.
You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.