LibGuides at USA: AIS 320: Cultural Diversity: Finding Books (SOUTHcat)

SOUTHcat

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("equal employment")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (divers? finds diverse, diversity, diversion)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "civil rights," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll find related subject terms. Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
Revise and refine your searches.
Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.

Subscription E-Books

The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Full text to books of major importance in historical studies. Formerly the History E-Book Project.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
A collection of about 11,173 current electronic books which you (student, faculty or staff) can search, browse, check-out and read on a computer anywhere in the world. The University Library has added the Teacher's Resource Collection of 46 books to our NetLibrary subscription. Do a Title search on the SOUTHcat Catalog: Teacher's resources.The checkout period for books from Netlibrary is currently 4 hours. In order to check out a book, you must create an account with NetLibrary.

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.

More SOUTHcat Resources

Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
An introductory guide to SOUTHcat

Interlibrary Loan

If the USA Libraries don't have the book or article you're looking for, you can place a request for it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The link below will take you to the ILL page.

Interlibrary Loan