Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Social Work Databases
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Education Research Complete
Over 1500 professional and scholarly journals in education.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
Oxford Scholarship Online
The Marx Library has access to books in these specific modules: Mathematics, Social Work, Public Health and Epidemiology, and Business and Management.
SAGE Journals Online
Full-text available for 574 journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database includes full-text article from 860 journals in the social sciences.
Wiley Online Library
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.
Recommended Social Work Journals
Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials in the field of child development since 1930. The journal provides the latest research for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.
Journal of Marriage and Family
JMF features original research and theory, research interpretation and reviews, and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families.
American Journal of Community Psychology
American Journal of Community Psychology published in association with the Society for Community Research and Action: The Division of Community Psychology of the American Psychological Association offers quantitative and qualitative research on community psychological interventions at the social, neighborhood, organizational, group, and individual levels.
Social Service Review
The Review features balanced, scholarly contributions from social work and social welfare scholars, as well as from members of the various allied disciplines engaged in research on human behavior, social systems, history, public policy, and social services.
Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database
To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)
If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.
If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.
This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.
You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.