LibGuides at USA: African American Studies: Slavery

Search Our Journal List

Our Journal & E-Book List

Google Scholar Search

Finding Articles

JSTOR

Periodicals Archive Online
Backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Project Muse

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
History Reference Source
Encyclopedias, reference books, and primary material.
Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, 1840-1877
Newspaper accounts from this period.

Books on Slavery

Confederate Reckoning : power and politics in the Civil War South by Stephanie McCurry
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 487 .M18 2010

ISBN: 9780674045897

Publication Date: 2010-04-30

Search SOUTHcat, ebrary, ACLS Humanities ebooks, and EBSCO eBook Collection for more books on African Americans and slavery. These are books the Marx Library owns that could be useful

Fugitive Vision: slave image and Black identity in antebellum narrative by Michael A. Chaney
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks PS 217 .S55 C47 2008

ISBN: 9780253349446

Publication Date: 2007-12-26
How Race Is Made : slavery, segregation, and the senses by Mark M. Smith
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 185.61 .S648 2006

ISBN: 9780807830024

Publication Date: 2006-02-20
Slavery and the Making of America by James Oliver Horton; Lois E. Horton
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 441 .H73 2006

ISBN: 9780195304510

Publication Date: 2006-02-16
Cotton and Race in the Making of America by Gene Dattel
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 441 .D237 2011

ISBN: 1566639689

Publication Date: 2011-12-16
The American Crucible : slavery, emancipation and human rights by Robin Blackburn
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks HT 1048 .B523 2011

ISBN: 9781844675692

Publication Date: 2011-05-09
Women and Slavery in America by Catherine M. Lewis; J. Richard Lewis
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks HT 1048 .W66 2011

ISBN: 9781557289575

Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Slavery and the American South by Annette Gordon-Reed; Winthrop D. Jordan (Editor)
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 441 .P68 2003

ISBN: 9781578065813

Publication Date: 2003-11-01
The Routledge History of Slavery by Gad Heuman (Editor); Trevor Burnard (Editor)
Call Number: Marx Library Electronic Books

ISBN: 0415520835

Publication Date: 2012-04-20

Slave Narratives

African American Slave Narratives: an anthology. Volume II by Sterling Lecater Bland
Call Number: University Library Electronic Books

ISBN: 9780313007071

Publication Date: 2001

From the EBSCO eBook Collection.
I Was Born a Slave: an anthology of classic slave narratives by Yuval Taylor (Editor); Charles Johnson (Foreword by)
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 444 .I18 1999

ISBN: 9781556523359

Publication Date: 1999-02-01

This is a two volume set.
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet A. Jacobs; Nell Irvin Painter (Contribution by); John S. Jacobs; Harriet Jacobs
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 444 .J17 A3 2000b

ISBN: 9780140437959

Publication Date: 2000-07-01
John Washington's Civil War: a slave narrative by John Washington; Crandall A. Shifflett
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 450 .W325 A3 2008

ISBN: 9780807133019

Publication Date: 2008-04-01
The Cambridge Companion to the African American Slave Narrative by Audrey A. Fisch (Editor)
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks PS 366 .A35 C36 2007

ISBN: 9780521850193

Publication Date: 2007-05-01

Images from Slavery

Images of African-American Slavery and Freedom
From the Library of Congress
The Face of Slavery
And Other Early Images of African Americans
Images of 19th Century African Americans
From the Digital Schomburg
Slavery in America: Image Gallery
Slavery Images
From the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and the University of Virginia Library. The collection consists of 1,280 images.

AlabamaMosaic
Search "african american" or slavery

Internet Resources

Africans in America
From 1450-1865
Maps of Arican and the Slave Trade
Slavery in America
Includes videos and photogalleries
An Introduction to the Slave Narrarive
From Documenting the American South
American Slave Narratives: an Online Anthology
Includes over 2,300 narratives from the Works Progress Administration interviews.
North American Slave Narratives
From Documenting the American South
Narrative of the Life of Fredrick Douglass, an American Slave
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Written by Herself
Harriet Jacob's classic narrative, Also available at Project Gutenberg in html, epub (no images) Kindle (no images) and many other formats.
The Freedmen's Bureau Online
Records are searchable but can be navigated by state as well.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center